We have introduced the function Remember Me, which will now allow users to remain signed in into Thalex for up to 7 days before having to sign in again.
The Process
When you Log in to a site, you get a cookie which contains cryptographic information associated with your logged in session in the server hosting the website.
Every time you send a request to the site, the cookie is sent alongside it, allowing the site to identify you and log you in automatically
When you close the site, log out or are inactive for longer than one hour, the server stops accepting the cookie and you have to log in again next time you send a request.
By clicking remember me, the site will keep the cookie active longer after you close the site- allowing the user to close the site and revisit it without having to log in again
This cookie will eventually expire but the time before expiry is significantly longer.
In case of the Thalex remember me cookie the expiration time is 7 days. Otherwise the cookie only lasts one hour.
Points to Consider
- The Remember Me function can be turned off at any time, but you must first need to log out and then untick the Remember Me box. Additionally the removal of cookies or similar actions will result in the function being deactivated.
- The Remember Me function works on any device, including mobile. Turning off the device will not log you out as long it is within the cookie's seven day timeframe.
Risks
- The drawback to the remember me is that in the case that your device is stolen or lost, anybody can log in into your account by going to the Thalex website.
- If this occurs, please access your account security page where you can Log Out All Sessions , this will log out all sessions of your account, meaning you will have to introduce you log in information in order to log in.